Hockey, Wayne’s World, and Romance: Delayed Penalty by Sophia Henry

September 1: the unofficial first day of fall, the day Halloween candy hit store shelves, and the day Sophia Henry’s Delayed Penalty skyrocketed into awesomeness (and onto Amazon).

***

DELAYED PENALTY

She closed her heart long ago. He just wants to open her mind. For fans of Toni Aleo and Sawyer Bennett, the debut of Sophia Henry’s red-hot Detroit Pilots series introduces a hockey team full of complicated men who fight for love.

Auden Berezin is used to losing people: her father, her mother, her first love. Now, just when she believes those childhood wounds are finally healing, she loses something else: the soccer scholarship that was her ticket to college. Scrambling to earn tuition money, she’s relieved to find a gig translating for a Russian minor-league hockey player—until she realizes that he’s the same dangerously sexy jerk who propositioned her at the bar the night before.

Equal parts muscle and scar tissue, Aleksandr Varenkov knows about trauma. Maybe that’s what draws him to Auden. He also lost his family too young, and he channeled the pain into his passions: first hockey, then vodka and women. But all that seems to just melt away the instant he kisses Auden and feels a jolt of desire as sudden and surprising as a hard check on the ice.

After everything she’s been through, Auden can’t bring herself to trust any man, let alone a hot-headed puck jockey with a bad reputation. Aleksandr just hopes she’ll give him a chance—long enough to prove he’s finally met the one who makes him want to change.

***

Delayed Penalty has only been out in the world for two weeks, but already it has over 200 reviews on Goodreads. Including mine, which can more or less be summed up as this:

ww

Seriously, guys. I love the nineties, and I really love Wayne’s World. So when Sophia Henry dropped nineties references all over this book?

not worthy

It also has hot hockey players, sweet romance, and characters who stick with you for days. A fabulous read, even if you don’t love Wayne’s World as much as I do. Stay tuned for book two in the series, Power Play, out February 2016.

***

My official Goodreads review:

I’m not much of a hockey fan, but I do enjoy hot hockey players. So, basically Delayed Penalty was perfect for me. Low on the hockey, high on the hot hero factor.

It was a a fun read about two people falling in love, but it was also a beautifully rendered portrayal of grief. Both the hero and heroine have lost their parents, and Sophia Henry delivers a dozen or more poignant turns of phrase that hit me straight in the heart and made feel that grief too.

I’m excited to see what book two in the series holds.

(Also, if you love ’90s references as much as I do, you will be very happy with this one.)

Buy Links:   iBooks | Amazon | B & N | Kobo

Sophia Henry, a proud Detroit native, fell in love with reading, writing, and hockey all Sophia Henry Author Picbefore she became a teenager. She did not, however, fall in love with snow. So after graduating with an English degree from Central Michigan University, she moved to North Carolina, where she spends her time writing books featuring hockey-playing heroes, chasing her two high-energy sons, watching her beloved Detroit Red Wings, and rocking out at concerts with her husband.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | GoodReads

Rafflecopter Giveaway (Select Loveswept Ebook Bundle)
a Rafflecopter giveaway